The National 2021: New Australian Art is a celebration of contemporary Australian art. The third in a series of biennial survey exhibitions, it showcases work being made across the country by artists of different generations and cultural backgrounds. Through ambitious new and commissioned projects, the 39 artists, collectives and collaboratives featured across three venues respond to the times in which they live, presenting observations that are provocative, political and poetic. The National is a partnership between the Art Gallery of New South Wales (AGNSW), Carriageworks and the Museum of Contemporary Art Australia (MCA). This year, it has been curated by Matt Cox and Erin Vink (AGNSW), Abigail Moncrieff (Carriageworks), and Rachel Kent (MCA). Working in close dialogue, they have developed three distinct presentations of new Australian art that together highlight many of the ideas and concerns motivating artists in Australia today.

2021 Artists

  • A Constructed World
  • Vernon Ah Kee & Dalisa Pigram
  • Wona Bae & Charlie Lawler
  • Lauren Berkowitz
  • Janet Burchill & Jennifer McCamley
  • Mitch Cairns
  • Maree Clarke
  • Lorraine Connelly-Northey
  • Agatha Gothe-Snape with Andrew Burrell
  • Fiona Hall
  • Gabriella Hirst
  • Alana Hunt
  • Mehwish Iqbal
  • Kate Just
  • Karrabing Film Collective
  • Deborah Kelly
  • Betty Muffler & Maringka Burton
  • Michelle Nikou
  • Betty Kuntiwa Pumani
  • Cameron Robbins
  • Sarah Rodigari
  • Caroline Rothwell
  • Lisa Sammut
  • Benjamin Prabowo Sexton
  • Justin Shoulder
  • Sancintya Mohini Simpson
  • Sally Smart
  • Leyla Stevens
  • Phaptawan Suwannakudt
  • Abdullah M.I. Syed
  • Darren Sylvester
  • Alick Tipoti
  • James Tylor
  • Brendan Van Hek
  • Isadora Vaughan
  • Judy Watson
  • Mulkun Wirrpanda
  • John Wolseley
  • Judith Wright

Art Gallery of New South Wales

26 March – 5 September 2021


26 March – 20 June 2021

Museum of Contemporary Art

26 March– 22 August 2021